Do You Lose Your License for a DWI in Texas?
Were you arrested for drunk driving or drugged driving in Texas? If so, it is crucial that you know what to do to protect your ability to drive. You can lose your driver’s license for a DWI in Texas. In fact, your license can be suspended administratively before you are ever convicted of a crime. Here, our Fort Worth DWI defense attorney provides a guide to what will happen to your driver’s license if you are arrested for intoxicated driving in Texas.
What to Know About DWI Arrests and Administrative License Suspensions in Texas
Every person who has been arrested and charged with a crime in Texas is presumed to be innocent until proven guilty in a court of law. However, there are some specialized legal rules and regulations in place for motorists. A driver can face administrative—non-criminal—sanctions based solely on allegations. Your license could be suspended administratively after a DWI arrest in Fort Worth.
As explained by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), a driver who refuses to provide a blood/breath sample or who provides a sample measured in excess of the legal limit will face an administrative suspension (administrative revocation) of their license. There is a 90-day suspension in Texas for a first offense. Though, the suspension for a first offense refusal is 180 days.
You Can Appeal an Administrative Suspension
You have 15 days from the date of a DWI arrest to request a hearing to contest an administrative suspension. A Fort Worth DWI defense lawyer can help you protect your license from an administrative suspension.
An Overview of the Driver’s License Suspension for a DWI Conviction
Beyond the potential administrative penalties associated with a DWI arrest, a driver who is convicted of an intoxicated driving offense in Texas will also face a criminal suspension of their license. Of course, there are also other penalties associated with a DWI conviction as well. The length of the suspension period depends on the specific circumstances of the case. Here is a general overview of driver’s license suspension penalties for a DWI conviction in Texas:
- First Offense DWI: A driver’s license suspension of between 90 days and 365 days.
- Subsequent Offense DWI: A license suspension of between 180 days and two years.
You have the right to raise a defense against a DWI charge. While an arrest and conviction can certainly cost you your license, there are options available. You may have valid legal defenses available. The charges may even be dismissed outright with the help of a lawyer.
Contact Our Fort Worth, TX DWI Defense Lawyer for Immediate Help
At The Law Office of Kyle Whitaker, our Fort Worth DWI defense is an aggressive advocate for justice. If you were arrested and charged with drunk driving, we can protect your rights, including acting to best protect your license. Contact us today to schedule a strictly confidential initial appointment with an attorney. From our Fort Worth office, we provide DWI defense representation in North Texas, including Tarrant County, Dallas County, Collin County, and Rockwall County.