Fort Worth Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer
Always remember that when you face a domestic violence charge, even if you get exonerated, and the allegations against you have been discredited, in some cases, just getting charged with domestic violence could negatively impact your life.
Being charged with domestic violence, or family violence, as it’s commonly called in Texas, will not only cost you hefty fines and/or prison time but also cost you respect from your family, friends, neighbors, and colleagues. It could likewise negatively affect any child custody and visitation orders, your job opportunities, and other important aspects of your life.
Avoid all the penalties and stigma of a domestic violence conviction. Contact experienced Fort Worth domestic violence defense lawyer Kyle Whitaker to find out how you could fight the unfair charges against you.
Domestic Violence Under Texas Law
In Texas, domestic or family violence involves any of these:
- Child abuse that involves a member of the family or the household
- Acts by a household or family member against someone in the same household or family that threatens or leads to bodily injury, assault, physical harm, or sexual assault
- Dating violence
Common domestic violence crimes include violating protective orders, continuous family violence, domestic assault, and aggravated domestic assault. Other domestic violence-related offenses include unlawful restraint, kidnapping, stalking, and homicide.
The penalties for domestic violence convictions would depend on whether they are classified as felonies or misdemeanors. Generally speaking, you might need to pay a fine between $500 and $10,000 and face imprisonment of 180 days to 99 years.
What to Do If You’re Arrested for Domestic Violence in Texas
You are in a heated argument with your partner, and your partner calls the police claiming that you’ve committed an act of domestic violence. This is how most cases of family violence begin. When the police arrive at your home, resist the urge to make excuses and just remain silent.
In Texas, a police officer responding to calls about family violence complaints can arrest anyone in the scene if they believe there’s probable cause to make an arrest. To avoid issues with the police, reach out to an experienced Fort Worth domestic violence defense lawyer immediately. Your lawyer will advise you on what you should do and work on getting you out of police custody, if possible.
Once you’re out of jail, do not contact your partner, even to apologize or explain your side. A lot of people make the mistake of reaching out to the alleged victim to convince them to drop the charges. Depending on the specific facts of the case against you, making repeated attempts to reach out to the alleged victim might even come across as stalking or harassment, or violating a protective order, if there’s one against you.
Find Out How an Experienced Fort Worth Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer Today
Facing a charge of domestic violence in Texas? Don’t wait to seek proper legal guidance from an experienced Fort Worth domestic violence defense lawyer. Schedule an appointment with attorney Kyle Whitaker as soon as possible by calling 817-332-7703 or contacting us online.