Avoiding License Suspension
If you received a ticket for speeding, you likely didn’t give it too much thought beyond reluctantly paying the fine. But in the state of Texas, too many moving violations on your driving record may result in suspension of your drivers’ license. A charge of driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, drugs, or both also results in the loss of driving privileges. The Fort Worth criminal defense lawyers at The Law Offices of Kyle Whitaker are experienced in DUI, DWI, and driving suspension cases and skillfully advocate for you every step of the way.
Moving traffic violations
One moving traffic violation — such as running a stop light – will not result in having your drivers’ license suspended. However, if you receive multiple moving violations, your driving privileges could be at risk. Each state has laws regarding the number and type of moving traffic violations permitted within a certain time period.
In Texas, your drivers’ license may be suspended for moving traffic violations if you have been convicted of either of the following:
- Four – or more – moving traffic violations within 12 months or
- Seven – or more – moving traffic violations within 24 months
Drivers may also have their license suspended if they are convicted of at least two offenses for a violation that conflicts with an endorsement or restriction listed on their drivers’ license.
Charge of DUI
Texas has strong penalties for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, and is a “zero tolerance” state regarding minors and alcohol. Drivers age 21 and older face DWI charges if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or more or if they exhibit physical or mental impairment due to alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two. A first-time DWI conviction results in license suspension for a period of 90 days up to a year. A second offense brings a suspension for at least a year. And with a third DWI, the license is suspended for one to two years.
Refusing blood alcohol testing
Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol test or breathalyzer test will also result in license suspension. With the first offense, your license is suspended for 180 days. With the second offense, the license is suspended for two years.
If you are in need an attorney that you can trust to fight for you, then go see Kyle. He knows the ropes and understands the system, and has earned his reputation as an aggressive attorney who will unapologetically get the job done right the first time! Read more
Worried your drivers’ license will be suspended? We can help
In today’s day and age, many people drive to school, work, appointments, and other day-to-day activities. Having your drivers’ license suspended can wreak havoc on your life, impeding your ability to get to work, which has financial ramifications. If you are facing drivers’ license suspension due to moving traffic violations, a DWI conviction, or other offenses, don’t panic. Let us help. At The Law Offices of Kyle Whitaker in Fort Worth, our skilled criminal defense attorneys work with you to protect your rights and fight the charges against you. To discuss the details of your situation, schedule a free consultation with a member of our team. Contact our office at 817-332-7703 or online.