Defending Against Serious Vehicular Manslaughter Charges in the Fort Worth Area
When someone dies in a traffic accident, law enforcement officers will investigate to determine whether another driver was at fault and whether they violated the law. In some situations, police officers might arrest you if they suspect you were at fault and that certain circumstances led to the fatal crash. If this happens, you might soon face charges of vehicular manslaughter.
Vehicular manslaughter is a serious offense with harsh penalties if you are convicted. You need the right Fort Worth criminal defense attorney handling your case as soon as possible to prevent a wrongful conviction or overly harsh consequences. Contact the Law Office of Kyle Whitaker to discuss your charges today.
Vehicular Manslaughter and Related Charges in Texas
Even if you were even partially to blame for a fatal traffic accident, prosecutors might make allegations and charge you with one of the following offenses set out in Texas law, depending on the situation:
- Vehicular manslaughter - This alleges that you caused another individual’s death by operating a motor vehicle while engaging in reckless conduct. This is a second-degree felony.
- Criminally negligent homicide - This charge applies if someone caused the death of someone else while operating their vehicle with criminal negligence. This is a lesser offense to vehicular manslaughter and is a state jail felony.
- Intoxication manslaughter - Texas is one of the few states that has a specific vehicular manslaughter charge that applies to someone who caused a fatality while driving while intoxicated. This is generally a second-degree felony.
There are additional charges that can apply to people who are accused of street racing, driving on a suspended license, or other traffic offenses that then result in the death of another person.
Any conviction for vehicular manslaughter or related charges in Texas can come with serious penalties. These can vary depending on the situation, but they can include:
- Suspension or revocation of your driver’s license
- Fines up to $10,000
- 180 days to two years of imprisonment for a state jail felony
- Two to ten years of imprisonment for a third-degree felony
- Two to 20 years of imprisonment for a second-degree felony
In addition, you will have a serious conviction on your criminal record, which can make it difficult to find or keep employment and other lasting consequences.
Fortunately, there are ways to defend against vehicular manslaughter charges in Texas. The right defense attorney can identify the best strategy to defend against your charges and prevent a conviction when possible or minimize the penalties you face. Some defenses include:
- You did not actually cause or contribute to the accident
- You were not intoxicated or driving in a reckless or negligent manner
Speak with a Fort Worth Vehicular Manslaughter Attorney Today
The Law Office of Kyle Whitaker defends against serious criminal charges, including those stemming from fatal traffic crashes. If you have been arrested and accused of a crime, call 817-332-7703 or contact us online to speak with an experienced defense attorney about your case.