Fort Worth Theft Crimes Lawyers
What is the Punishment for Theft in TX?
In Texas, an individual has committed theft when they take someone else’s belongings without the consent of the owner or any legal justification to do so, and during the incident, the individual had no intention of giving back the stolen property to its owner.
Texas has general theft laws that encompass a wide variety of theft-related offenses, including:
- Shoplifting or organized retail theft
- Receiving stolen goods
- Cargo theft
- Theft by check
- Theft of trade secrets
Similar to most states, theft offenses in Texas are categorized based on the stolen goods’ value or the specific type of goods that were taken. A theft offense could be a felony or misdemeanor, and besides possible jail time and costly fines, judges could order the perpetrator to compensate the victim for their theft-related losses.
Theft Penalties in TX
- Class C Misdemeanor – Theft of goods not exceeding $50. Punishment includes a fine not exceeding $500.
- Class B Misdemeanor – Theft of goods valued between $50 and $500. Punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine up to $2,000.
- Class A Misdemeanor – Theft of goods between $500 and $1,500. Punishable by up to a year in prison and a fine not exceeding $4,000.
- State Jail Felony – Theft of goods between $1,500 and $20,000. Punishments include 180 days to two years of imprisonment and/or a fine not exceeding $10,000. This charge could be bumped up to felony theft in the third degree if the offender exhibited or utilized a deadly weapon or firearm while committing the theft offense or had previously been convicted of a felony.
- Third-Degree Felony – Theft of goods between $20,000 and $100,000. Punishable by two to ten years in jail and/or a fine not exceeding $10,000.
- Second-Degree Felony – Theft of goods between $100,000 and $200,000. This is punishable by two to 20 years in prison and/or a fine up to $10,000.
- First-Degree Felony – Theft of goods worth $200,000 or more. The punishments include jail time of five to 99 years and/or a fine not exceeding $10,000.
Enhanced Penalties for Theft in TX
In Texas, the penalties for theft offenses is raised to the next level or degree of offense, such as from second-degree felony to first-degree felony theft, if one or more of the following applies to the theft offense:
- The property owner was 65 years old or older or an individual for a nonprofit organization
- The stolen goods were under the supervision of a public officer or servant
- The stolen goods were under the supervision of a Medicare provider
- The stolen goods were under the supervision of an individual under a government contract
- The offender’s actions during the theft resulted in a fire alarm going off or prevented the activation of a fire alarm
Speak to an Experienced Fort Worth Theft Lawyer Today
If you or a loved one has been charged with theft in Texas, seek legal advice from an experienced Fort Worth theft lawyer as soon as possible. You can learn more about the charges against you and your legal options going forward by consulting with attorney Kyle Whitaker. Write to us online or call 817-332-7703 to arrange your consultation today.