4320 W. Vickery Blvd, Suite A, Fort Worth, TX 76107
817-332-7703 Schedule an Appointment With Us Online »
Historical Fort Worth courthouse
Southlake Texas Divorce Attorneys

Experienced And Trusted Fort Worth Texas Criminal & Family Law Firm

Southlake TX Divorce Attorney

Considering a divorce? If so, you likely have many questions regarding the divorce process, what evidence you need to show for wanting a divorce, how long it takes, and other matters. The experienced divorce attorneys at The Law Office of Kyle Whitaker in Southlake understand that divorce is a complicated, uniquely personal decision and our compassionate, knowledgeable counsel skillfully guides you through all the steps for the best possible outcome in your situation.

Do I need to show the divorce is my spouse’s fault?

In Texas, couples who want to file for divorce are not legally required to show evidence of any wrongdoing on the part of their spouse to justify wanting a divorce. Texas is a mixed state, accepting both “fault” and “no fault” grounds as the reason for a divorce. Texas also recognizes a legal separation of at least three years as the basis for filing for divorce.

How is property divided in a divorce in Texas?

Texas is a community property state and all marital property is divided equally between the spouses after a divorce. Marital property includes any income that either spouse earned during the time they were married in addition to all property that was purchased with that earned income.

Child custody in Texas

As in other states, when addressing child custody issues, the Texas courts are guided by what is deemed to be in the best interests of the child. The courts presume that it is best for children to have regular, ongoing contact with both parents after a divorce and the court’s decisions strive to best satisfy the physical, emotional, and mental needs of the child or children. Custody may be awarded to one parent or both parents and several factors are taken into consideration when making this determination.

Time frame for finalizing a divorce in Texas

In the Lone Star State, a divorce cannot be finalized for a minimum of 60 days after the petition is filed with the court. If both spouses agree to the terms of the divorce, then the divorce decree can be signed 60 days after filing. If the spouses do not agree to the terms, then the divorce process takes longer, depending upon the number of issues that need to be resolved and their complexity.

Have more questions about the divorce process? Give us a call

Divorce is an emotional process and can be complicated depending upon your situation and whether there are issues concerning property or child custody. Let us help you through the process. At The Law Office of Kyle Whitaker, our Southlake divorce lawyers are experienced in all aspects of Texas divorce law, and skillfully work with spouses to resolve conflicts and reach the best possible outcome in your personal situation. Arrange for a confidential consultation with a member of our team to discuss your options. Contact our office at 817-332-7703 or online.