What Are The Consequences of a DWI in Texas?
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) or under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs risks not only your life but also the safety and lives of other people. It could likewise land you in jail. In Texas, a driver is considered legally intoxicated when a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08%. But take note that you’re technically breaking the law if alcohol or drugs affect your driving ability in any way.
A DWI conviction will remain on your record forever. If you’re facing a DWI charge in Texas, reach out to our skilled Fort Worth DWI attorney Kyle Whitaker to learn more about the charge against you and how you could fight it.
Penalties for a DWI Conviction in Texas
- A First DWI Offense carries a fine not exceeding $2,000, a jail sentence of not more than 180 days, and a driver’s license suspension of up to one year.
- A Second DWI Offense carries a fine of not more than $4,000, a driver’s license suspension of up to two years, and a jail sentence of up to one year.
- A Third DWI Offense carries a fine of $10,000, a prison sentence of two to 10 years, and a driver’s license suspension of up to two years.
In addition to these DWI penalties, your vehicle might need an ignition interlock device installation, and you must complete a DWI education or intervention program and pay a yearly surcharge to the state of up to $2,000 for three years to maintain your driver’s license.
The penalties for these offenses are likewise more severe for repeat offenders if the incident involved injury to certain individuals, such as peace officers, emergency medical technicians, or firefighters, and if it resulted in catastrophic injury to another individual.
DWI Penalties for Minors in Texas
It’s illegal for individuals under 21 years old to drive with any measurable alcohol concentration in their systems. First-time offenders could face:
- Community service
- Suspension of driving privileges
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
- Driver education and/or DWI education program
The penalties significantly increase with each repeat offense and may include jail time.
Penalties for DWI-Related Offenses in Texas
The following DWI-related offenses involve a risk of injury or actual injury to other people:
- DWI with a minor under 15 years old in the vehicle – State jail felony
- Intoxication Assault – Third-degree felony
- Intoxication Manslaughter – Second-degree felony
Implied Consent Laws in Texas
These laws state that all motorists must take a breath or blood test when they are lawfully arrested for a DWI. If you refuse, you could face 180 days or two years of license suspension, depending on their driving and/or criminal record.
Seek Legal Help from a Skilled Fort Worth DWI Attorney Now
A DWI conviction could result in hefty fines, jail time, loss of your driver’s license, and for commercial drivers, a huge hit to their income due to their inability to work and perhaps the end of their driving careers. This is why discussing your legal options with a skilled Fort Worth DWI attorney as soon as possible is immensely crucial. Arrange your meeting with Fort Worth DWI attorney Kyle Whitaker by contacting us online or calling 817-332-7703.