Experienced team aggressively defends clients
Charged with drug possession in Fort Worth or Southlake Texas? Don’t panic.
Tarrant County and Texas in general are recognized as tough on drug crime, with strict drug possession laws and stiff penalties for those convicted. Punishments for drug possession in Texas depend upon both the amount and type of drug involved. Regulations are complicated and can be difficult to understand. If you are facing a drug possession charge in Texas, your best course of action is to have an experienced attorney represent you and handle your case. The drug possession attorneys at the Texas Law Office of Kyle Whitaker are experienced and knowledgeable in defending drug possession charges.
What are the penalties for drug possession in Texas?
Penalties for drug possession in Texas vary from a misdemeanor to felony, depending upon several factors including:
- Type of drug
- Quantity of drug
- If paraphernalia was found with drug possession
- Location of the drug and how it was stored
- Whether drug was found with a large sum of money
- Past offenses or convictions of individual charged
Controlled dangerous substances
State and federal governments regulate controlled dangerous substances due to their harmful effect on an individual’s health and wellbeing. Texas classifies illegal drugs into “Penalty Groups”, each with its own penalties based on the amount of the drug found in possession. Those penalty groups are as follows:
Penalty Group 1 — Opiates: cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine. A felony, penalties for possession range from 180 days-2 years in jail and a fine up to $1,000 (for 1g or less), to minimum jail time of 10 years and up to $100,000 fine (for more than 400g).
Penalty Group 1A — LSD. A felony, penalties for possession range from 180 days-2 years in jail and a $10,000 fine (for less than 20u), to a minimum of 15 years to life imprisonment and up to a $250,000 fine (for more than 8,000u).
Penalty Group 2 — Hallucinogenics: ecstasy, PCP, mescaline. A felony, penalties for possession range from 180 days-2 years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000 (for up to 1g), to jail time of 5 years to life and up to a $50,000 fine (for more than 400g).
Penalty Group 2A – Synthetic compounds of group 2. Considered a class B misdemeanor (for less than 2 oz.) to a felony (for more than 4 oz.), with penalties ranging from 180 days to life imprisonment, and fines of $2,000 to $50,000.
Penalty Groups 3 and 4 – Chemical compounds from common prescription drugs: Codeine, Valium, Ritalin. Penalties range from a Class A misdemeanor to a degree felony, with 5 years to life imprisonment and a fine up to $50,000.
Marijuana Possession – Not included in the penalty groups, Texas considers marijuana a controlled substance with its own set of penalties. Those carrying 2 oz. or less face up to 180 days in jail. Those possessing more than 2 oz. are charged a fine of $2,000 to $50,000 and face jail time of six months to life, depending upon the quantity of marijuana.
Drug possession charges are serious
A charge of drug possession in the state of Texas is a serious offense. Don’t leave the outcome of your case – and your future — to chance. The experienced Fort Worth & Southlake Texas drug possession attorneys at the Law Office of Kyle Whitaker aggressively fight for your rights, working tirelessly to achieve the best possible outcome in your case. Contact a member of our attorneys today at 817-332-7703 or online and schedule a free consultation to discuss your case. You’ll be glad you did.