OPEN PRACTICE AREAS

DWI Charges

Fort Worth DWI Attorneys

Drunk driving — also known as driving while intoxicated (DWI) — is one of the most common criminal charges in Texas. And it brings with it serious consequences. Each state has its own specific laws regarding DWI, and Texas imposes stiffer penalties than most. Understanding the law and your rights is important if you or a loved one is facing a DWI charge. The skilled attorneys at the Law Office of Kyle Whitaker explore all legal options available in DWI cases and aggressively fight on your behalf.

Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) tests

Law enforcement officers employ standard tests for determining blood alcohol level if an individual is suspected of driving while impaired. This may include a field sobriety test, a breathalyzer, or a blood test. Each state has guidelines for the level of blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) that is considered intoxicated under the state law. In Texas, adults over the age of 21 are considered intoxicated if they have a BAC of 0.08.

DWI Conviction and Penalties in Texas

In Texas, the penalties imposed for DWI convictions vary depending upon any previous convictions on your record. The penalties for each DWI offense are as follows:

First DWI Offense

  • Individuals are fined an amount not to exceed $2,000
  • Individuals are required to serve jail time ranging from three to 180 days
  • Loss of the driver’s license for a period of up to one year
  • Individuals must pay an annual fee of $1,000 to $2,000 for a period of three years in order to retain their driver’s license

Second DWI Offense

  • Offenders are subject to a fine of up to $4,000
  • Individuals serve jail time of one month to one year
  • Individual’s driver’s license is revoked for up to two years
  • Individuals must pay an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years in order to retain their driver’s license

Third DWI Offense

  • Offenders must pay a $10,000 fine
  • Individuals must serve a minimum jail time of two years to a maximum of 10 years
  • The individual’s driver’s license is revoked for up to two years
  • Individuals must pay an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years in order to retain their driver’s license

In addition, if you are charged with a DWI and a passenger under the age of 15 is in the vehicle at the time, you face additional penalties including jail time of 180 days to 2 years, and up to a $10,000 fine. An individual found with a BAC of 0.15% or more faces jail time of up to one year, and a fine of up to $4,000.

Installation of Ignition Interlock Device

In addition to the above penalties, if you have been convicted of two or more DWI offenses in a five year period, you are required by Texas law to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. This device measures the level of alcohol in your system and is designed to prevent the vehicle from starting if you have been drinking.

Our Fort Worth & Southlake Texas DWI lawyers fight for your rights

A driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge is a serious matter. If you are convicted, you face stiff penalties and will have a permanent mark on your record. To successfully beat a DWI charge, you want an experienced trial attorney by your side to aggressively fight on your behalf. The skilled legal team of DWI lawyers at the Law Office of Kyle Whitaker are knowledgeable, experienced, and personally dedicated to each DWI case. Contact our office today at 817-332-7703 or online to schedule a free, confidential consultation.